Calming My Monkey Mind

This past month has been a very growing time for me. I experienced a lupus stress attack six weeks ago that triggered a plethora of actions and emotions. I don’t want to get into details about my health complications, but rather focus on the lessons I took away from it.

When these flares happen, I know my body is telling me that once again, I have pushed myself past my limit. I was working full-time at my serving job, I had a part-time research internship, I was working on my honours thesis, and preparing to write the GRE (a grad school exam) this summer. My weeks were easily running upwards of 70 hours a week, not including the time I spent at the gym or doing yoga. I reached a point where I completely lost my passion for what I was doing. I questioned if I even wanted to go to grad school anymore. During my week of rest, I spent a lot of time reevaluating what my priorities are, remembering what is important to me, and what adds value to my life.

The first thing I did was quit my research internship. Even though it was only a part-time commitment, it was another obligation that took time away from self-care. I also decided to postpone writing the GRE exam until next summer after I graduate. It was many sleepless nights before I made this decision, as I was extremely conflicted. Not writing the GRE this summer meant that I was not eligible to apply to grad school until December 2018, which would add an additional year to my educational path. I felt a lot of disappointment in myself and spoke openly to my counselor about this. I felt like a failure and could not get myself out of this rut, which is what inspired me to write this blog piece. The lesson I took away from this experience is the importance of loosening my vice grip on life and letting things unfold naturally.

Since my teen years, I have always struggled with having uncertainty and ambiguity. I think it became much more pronounced after I was diagnosed with lupus. When I received my diagnosis, I felt a complete loss of control. That I had no influence on my life anymore, that things were being handed to me, and that I could not fight back. At which point, I tried to become more in control of all the other aspects of my life to compensate. I still very much can be a control freak, but I am starting to find comfort in the unknown.

I had my educational path mapped out for the next few years, in terms of when I would be applying to grad school, when I would start, etc., and have come to the conclusion that not having the next 5 years of my life mapped out is not detrimental to my success. As I continue working towards my future goals, I still need to enjoy life and do things in the present that enrich it.

I preach to my friends and family about the importance of self-care and yet at times, I neglect my body when it’s telling me to slow down. I have scaled back where I can and am trying to enjoy the rest of my summer and focus on taking care of myself. I recently started Moksha yoga, which I absolutely love. I practiced Bikram yoga for the past decade on and off and wanted to try something new. Moksha is similar to Bikram in the postures performed and that it is also done in a hot room. I find Moksha to be less militant than Bikram and have enjoyed the instructors and their more nurturing approach. Moksha is really about developing your own practice, listening to your body, and doing what feels right to you in that moment.

My takeaway lesson from this past month is that things will work themselves out. I have faith that events will unfold for me as they should. When I say faith, I don’t mean it in a religious context – I mean, I have faith in myself. Faith that the experiences I have, the people I meet, and the growing and learning I do every day, will lead me to my life’s purpose. Being able to take a step back and focus purely on the present (the next year – which is a major improvement for me!) has been extremely empowering. Undergoing self-realization and knowing that I will be okay in whatever path I choose to pursue has left me feeling content, peaceful, and grateful.

Leave a Reply

